Writing Tool – The Thesaurus

All writers search for that one word that can pack a punch and make a difference between a good statement and a great statement.  No one wants to write a story using the same words over and over again and just like our readers, we want some variety.  A thesaurus is a great way to mix it up a bit and although Word has a built in thesaurus the results are limited.  I’ve looked around on the internet to see if I could find a thesaurus that would really help in my writing and I found one.

Visual Thesaurus is unique and even a little fun to use.  It’s not free but the cost is minimal and there’s a free 14 day trial period.  Type in a word and click “look it up”.  A variety of words will come up that circle the word you’ve searched with each associated word connected with lines and a colored dot to symbolize the part of speech.  When you run your mouse over the colored dot a definition pops up for each group or one particular word and in some instances the word will be used in a sentence.  There’s a great feature where you can look up the words and synonyms in different languages as well.  If you see a group of words that you like better than your chosen word, right click on that word and choose “make center”. Once this is done you will see the focus is now on that word and synonyms etc.  Right clicking on a word will also give you options to search the internet for a more in depth description and also search images for your word.

I’ve just subscribed to this so I’m still getting used to it but I’m hoping it proves helpful.  Check it out and see what you think.  If you don’t want to subscribe you can try it for free without entering your credit card information but I think some of the features are disabled.  To use the free 14 day trial you have to enter your card information and cancel before the trial period runs out.

2 comments on “Writing Tool – The Thesaurus

  1. WasimSpeaks says:

    I rarely do Thesaurus. I just try to substitute a word in an article with another word I know. I think I too should start using it. Good to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

