Pro’s of writing short stories

As I’ve been working on my full length novel and frankly feeling quite defeated, I’ve also written a short story that I entered into a contest.  Once I finished that short story I began thinking of writing two more and put out a series based on my first one.  I outlined each one in detail and was surprised at how easily it flowed for me vs. the full length novel and  came to realize there are some very good reasons for that.

First is that a short story is just that, it’s short.  That doesn’t mean it’s any easier to write and have it make sense but for me it’s a challenge to consolidate all my thoughts into a few sentences that actually flow and get right to the point.  It forces me to be practical when I have a word count limit looming before me and more importantly it doesn’t bore the readers with unnecessary details that detract from the story.

Second is that its great practice to build my writing skills.  A first draft may show I’ve gone over the word count limit by 90 words which means I have to review each paragraph and really read it.  I’ll start asking myself questions like  Do I really need that description?  How can I convey this point with fewer words? etc. and it also forces me to show action instead of telling about it making the story itself much smoother.

Lastly is I found the story I was writing was exciting to me and I really liked my characters. I liked the plot, the way the scenes played out and loved the ending.  If you like your characters, your readers will too even the villains.  At least that’s what I’ve read from people who’ve given their advice with writing stories.

How do you feel about short stories vs. full length novels?

One comment on “Pro’s of writing short stories

  1. We are looking for new and aspiring writers to review & promote on our page. If you would be interested in this, head over to our blog on wordpress http://thebestsliceofpie.wordpress.com/ take a peek at some of our reviews.

    If you are stil interested email us and let us know so we can add you into the schedule. (Currently low on Short Stories to review and novels take a lot longer of course) Then send a link of your short story/novel either before or after its release date.

    We will read & review, you will see from our page we do things a little differently by focusing only on the positives and why you should read it, instead of a recount of what occurs….

    If you prefer to read the review before we publish it just ask, it will be emailed to you before it goes up on the blog… We will then continue to promote the link to your series through our blog and twitter.

    So please let us know if you are interested.

    We are having a new logo and page designed for us currently so excuse the look of the blog… The new design will go live at the end of next week so watch this space.. and feel free to follow us on twitter @Bestsliceofpie

    We also have an upcoming competition to be announced at the end of the week needing short stories & Poems, you may be interested!

    The Best Slice of Pie

    Like

Leave a Reply

